Osogbo Histo-Cultural at a Glance

Our Culture groveOsogbo, sometimes called “Ilu Aro” (home of dyeing), is a major dyeing center. The traditional industry is one of the major industries of Osogbo. A number of industries also began to rise after independence, notably small scale establishments involved in textile, foam making, and pencils. Osogbo was made a major industrial development center by the government of Nigeria during the 1970s led to establishment of Nigeria Machine Tools and Osogbo Steel Rolling Mills. Osogbo is also the childhood home of reknown dramatist and artist like Chief Duro Ladipo, Prince 7-7, Chief Jimoh Buremo, Nike Gallaries and the Muslim scholar Sheikh Abu Abdullah Adelabu. Osogbo is the venue of the annual International Osun-Osogbo festival along the River Osun from which Osun State derives her name. The festival is centered around the sacred grove of the river goddess Ọsun, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site Osogbo History in Brief According to tradition, In Ipole Omu, seven (7) rulers reigned before Olarooye in the following succession:

  • Adefokanbale
  • Aikanya
  • Ogbogba
  • Saso
  • Luberin
  • Laege – (Alias Adetuturinrin) father to both Lajomo and Larooye
  • Lajomo
  • Olarooye

During the reign of Oba Olarooye at Ipole, life became very unbearable because of incessant dry seasons. The then Ipole people became much dejected, worried and uncomfortable of their losses on their farms, domestics animals and human beings. The Oba Olarooye was worried and disheartened with the situations at Ipole Omu. He wanted emergency solutions to inevitable and uncountable losses. This was the time he ordered the chief hunter at Ipole in person of Timehin and his co-hunters to go on expedition and look for green pastures. Timehin and the other hunters courageously took up the challenge and moved out in search of better place for settlement. The expedition discovered River Osun. Yoruba tradition claims many people fleeing the Fulani Advancement settled at Osogbo following the fall of old Oyo. As a result Osogbo increased in population largely due to migration from other Yoruba towns. For want of more open place than grove and a more central location, Larooye and his people abandoned their settlement, including the already flourishing market and moved to Ode-Osogbo. At Ode-Osogbo, Larooye built his new palace at the present day Idi-Osun while Timehin built the ogun shrine now known as Idi-Ogun.  Since then, Osogbo has maintained its function as an economic center. List of Ataojas (traditional kings) The ”Ataoja of Osogbo” is the traditional tribal king, addressed by the title of ”Oba (ruler)|Oba”. The following is a list of Ataojas of Osogbo, with the dates of their rule: RULING HOUSE *Oba Larooye Gbadewolu d. 1670- 1760            Laro *Oba Sogbodede d.                  1760-1780           Sogbo *Aina Serebu                            1780-1810           Sogbo *Abogbe (as Regent, she reigned but did not assume the title Ataoja)    1810-1812                                                          Laro/ Matanmi *Obodegbewale (as Regent) 1812-1815         Sogbo/Oyipi *Oba Lahanmi Oyipi              1815-1840        Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Ojo Adio Okege              1840-1854        Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Oladejobi Oladele Matanmi I 1854-1864  Matanmi *Oba Fabode.Durosinmi Ogunnike 1864-1891  Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Bamigbola Alao                        1891-1893   Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Ajayi Olosunde Oyetona        1893-1903  Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Atanda Olukeye Olugbeja Matanmi II 1903-1917  Matanmi *Oba Kofoworola Ajadi Latona I 1918-1920       Oyipi/Lahanmi *Oba Alabi Kolawole                     1920-1933       Sogbo *Oba Samuel Oyedokun Latona II 1933-1943   Lahanmi/Matanmi *Oba Samuel Adeleye Adenle I      1944-1975    Sogbo * Oba Iyiola Oyewale Matanmi III 1976-2010  Lahanmi/Matanmi Oba matanmi*”’Oba Iyiola Oyewale Matanmi III”’ (born 1935) 1976-2010 He was also known as Aransi, named after “Ar-Razi”, according to  [Sheikh Adelabu] of [AWQAF Africa|Awqaf Africa] London to Nigerian Muslim Associations’ written request about the meaning of the Muslim name of Osogbo reigning traditional ruler Oba Aransi Iyiola Oyewale Matanmi. See [http://www.esinislam.com/ esinislam.com]. Source Nigerian Tribune,  [http://www.tribune.com.ng/index.php/news/9329-ataoja-of-osogbo-oba-oyewale-matanmi-joins-ancestors- Ataoja of Osogbo, Oba Oyewale Matanmi, joins ancestors. oba Jimoh* Oba Jimoh Olanipekun Larooye II 2010 till date.       Laro ruling house.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>